It is very thwarting when your dear or loved ones do not respond to your calls or pings even though you have tried several endeavors to reach them out. This unresponsive behavior can be boiled down to two self-explanatory reasons. Either way, you are
Although you can give your dear ones some slack if there is a
- Device failure
- Hectic Schedules
- Connectivity issues
However, everything has a limit (of excuse).
While there is no surefire plan to know if you have been blocked, we’ve figured out some workable hacks that are capable of helping you discover whether or not someone has blocked you on your iPhone.
How To Know If Someone Blocked You On iPhone?
Figuring out someone has blocked you on their iPhone is a challenging process. But to perceive whether you are blocked, try out some of these sure-shot hacks and then double-check your results.
But before we begin with our hacks (methods). Let’s dig into some tips to know what makes you unable to reach someone:
- The latter must have switched off their phone.
- The phone’s battery is depleted.
- The phone must have been misplaced.
- They are traveling.
- No availability of public Wi-Fi.
- The phone is in DND, i.e. Do Not Disturb mode.
- Issues with SIM card.
Method 1: Send An iMessage
This hack is the most effective way to determine if someone has blocked you on their iPhone.
All you have to do is:
- Head on to the Messages App on your device and send a courteous message to the person you think has blocked you as soon as possible.
- Once you’ve sent the message, check underneath it (before you suspect you’re blocked).
- Does it say delivered? If yes, then you have yet to be blocked by the latter.
- And if somehow you received an alert like Not Delivered, or if you aren’t receiving any notifications from the latter, it is a clear indication that you’ve been blocked.
Bonus tip: If there had been a network problem, your iMessage would have been sent as a text message by the Message app.
Method 2: Make A Call To Your Former
Make a phone call to your former and pay close attention to what transpires.
- Did the phone ring as it was supposed to, or did it just ring once, and then your call was redirected to voice mail?
- If the ringing continues without being redirected to voicemail, it indicates that you haven’t been blocked.
- On the contrary, if your phone rings once and you are continuously redirected to voicemail, it’s an unmistakable sign that you have been blocked.
Note: Please take into account that these signs can be interpreted similarly in situations such as the person whom you’re calling might switch-off off their phone, is busy on another call, has set for auto-diversion to voicemail, or has low connectivity (cellular).
Method 3: Turn Off Your Caller ID And Call Again
This hack aims to discover whether the phone rings more than once when no caller ID is displayed.
All you have to do is:
- Head on to the Settings App.
- Scroll down and find the Phone option.
- Upon tapping, look for the Caller ID Feature.
- Once you’ve found out, please turn it off by tapping its slider.
Once your caller ID is turned off, the other person will not be able to block the call and won’t be able to see your name when the call arrives.
If the other person blocks you, we will experience the following-
- Calls will ring as expected, and they won’t be diverted abruptly to voicemail.
- There is a possibility that the person will answer or deny your call as they cannot see who is Calling.
Method 4: Investigate Third-Party Applications
If you still feel that the other person has blocked you, check out these third-party applications to see if you can get in touch with that person through these platforms.
The following steps will walk you through how you can find out if someone has blocked you on Facebook:
- Launch the Facebook or Messenger app.
- Look for the person you thought might have blocked you in the search query.
- If the person doesn’t appear under your search query, chances are they’ve blocked you.
And when you go back to your previous conversation with them, you’ll see a statement that says you can no longer send a message to them.
The following steps will walk you through how you can find out if someone has blocked you on Whatsapp:
- Head on to the Whatsapp app.
- Look up the contact you feel may have blocked you.
Check if you can see their:
- DP (Display Picture)
- Last Seen
- Any other activity (WhatsApp call)
If you can see the profile details, you’re not blocked. But if it’s no, then there are chances that the other person might have blocked you.
Lastly, keep an eye on your message’s tick. If it’s single for a few days, that means you’ve been blocked.
The following steps will walk you through how you can find out if someone has blocked you on Snapchat:
- Launch Snapchat
- Look for the person you thought might have blocked you in the search menu.
- If their names appear, you are not on their blocked list, whereas if they don’t appear in search results, they have blocked you.
Method 5: Send Them A Text Message (SMS)
Send them a text message to see what your read receipts show.
As long as it shows delivered, you aren’t blocked. But for some reason, you got a popup that looked like this:
- Message Not Delivered.
- Or you get no notification at all.
Note: You can relax if you receive an auto-generated response explaining why your message wasn’t delivered. But when you are blocked, this auto-generated response doesn’t work.
Method 6: Bypass Do Not Disturb (DND) Mode
One thing to keep in mind is that there is also a possibility that your suspected blocker has held their phone in DND mode (in DND, the calls are also redirected to voicemails).
And to check this possibility, all you have to do is:
- Give a call to your suspected blocker and wait for it to be diverted to voice mail.
- After 3 minutes, call again, and if your suspected blocker uses the Do Not Disturb mode on their phone, then your second call will go through since the second call in DND mode indicates emergency (which clearly shows you aren’t blocked).
- But if your second call is also diverted to voice mail, this is another red flag (which indicates you might have been blocked).
Method 7: Mask Your Phone Number With *67
Masking your phone number with *67 is not only an effective way to bypass the Caller Id but also a method for concealing your number. Through the help of this hack, you will be able to determine whether the other person has blocked you or not.
All you have to do is:
- Call again, but before you type in the phone number, dial *67. It indicates you’ve been blocked if it constantly rings with this masked number (or if someone picks up the call).
We hope you’ve found the right ways to determine whether another person has blocked you on your iPhone.
So, ensure you have an extra dose of patience when dealing with this frustrating situation. And if necessary, never confront the other person directly if they have blocked you.
Instead, check out the list of options mentioned to determine whether your caller ID has been blocked. If these tips helped solve your queries, please share your views in the comments below.
Frequently Asked Question
How could you be misled into thinking you have been blocked?
Here are some false-positive signs that could mislead you:
– Calls are redirected directly to voice mail.
– Need help to see a delivery badge beneath your text message.
– No response from the latter.
Note: However, these false positives can also be observed when the latter has activated DND, i.e. Do Not Disturb or has no cellular connectivity.
What steps to take if another person has blocked your phone number?
If you want to make sure that the other person has seriously blocked you, all you have to do is:
– Call them.
– Check the color of your text bubbles (iMessage).
– Investigate third-party apps.
– Look for automated responses.